Chunky black bean soup: How I broke in my brand new Christmas gift

Chunky black bean soup by LSCicchirillo

This Christmas I got a bit of a laugh when I opened a gift given to me by my husband.

‘You broke a cardinal rule,’ I teased as I held my brand new, just-unwrapped, still-in-the-box KitchenAid food processor.

‘What?’ Jon answered, truly confused.

You see, I had pretty much grown up knowing in my soul it wasn’t right for a husband to give a wife a kitchen appliance (or anything, really, that was solely practical) for her *insert birthday, anniversary, holiday present, etc. My dad had once given my mom a pancake griddle for Christmas, and it didn’t become a funny story till a few years later. In the 1991 version of ‘Father of the Bride,’ the young couple almost doesn’t make it to the altar when the bride-to-be is given a blender by her fiancé. Just recently, one of my friends was livid after receiving a GPS system from her fiancé for Christmas.

And now it was my turn.

Only I wasn’t upset. I felt I was supposed to feel irked over this broken Golden Rule of Marriage, but I only laughed.

For our honeymoon, we went to Paris and Rome. In Paris I fell in love with macarons so much that I had vowed I would one day become a French Macaron Connoisseur. I had recently bought a book on how to make the delicate, little treat, and my first attempt was a hilarious failure (more to come on that in an upcoming post!). I had blamed my failed attempt on not having a food processor (not me, of course!), which the recipe had called for, and this is what Jon had remembered.

And, I suppose I should mention to his credit, my main Christmas present were two tickets to the pre-Broadway show of ‘Aladdin,’ which was scheduled a few weeks prior to Dec. 25! It was a fantastic surprise.

But back to the food processor. And my chunky black bean soup. I must admit, the soup looks like a bowl of mud. But oh wow does it taste delicious! And we Canadians have been getting a wicked walloping from winter this season, so muddy appearance aside, I have been looking forward to my hot, comforting bowl of chunky black bean soup.

What you need

  • 1 – 2 tbsp olive oil
  • ½ large red onion, finely chopped
  • ½ tbsp. minced garlic
  • Five 15-ounce cans of black beans
  • 1 ½ cups of chicken broth (or more if you want to thin out your soup)
  • 3 – 4 tbsp chili pepper
  • 1 tbsp ground black pepper
  • Dash of cayenne pepper
  • Dash of red pepper flakes

What you have to do

  • Begin cooking the onion and garlic in the olive oil in your slow cooker (you can also pre-cook it on your stove-top if you don’t mind the extra pan)
  • Wash and drain the black beans, and run about ¾ of them in your (fancy! new!) food processor
  • Add the black beans, chicken broth, and everything else to your slow cooker and leave for about 3 – 4 hours on low.
It may not look like much, it is one of the better tasting soups I've had all season.

It may not look like much, but it is one of the better tasting soups I’ve had all season.

5 Comments

Filed under Delicious dishes sans gluten

5 responses to “Chunky black bean soup: How I broke in my brand new Christmas gift

  1. I have so many things to say about this post! First, the recipe looks fabulous. I will definitely be trying this out next week. Love BEANS! Second, I thought I read the heading wrong and thought you said you broke your brand new Christmas gift..lol..the whole time I was like “how’d she break it!?” Third, we had that same exact rule in our house. I’ll never forget the year my Dad got my Mom a dust buster. You could cut the tension with a knife! Although, at this point I really wouldn’t mind a kitchen appliance because I’m kind of addicted to them, but he better follow up with a kick ass “non-practical” gift, like yours did 🙂
    Glad to hear you had a great Christmas! We had some horror stories trying to fly in AND out of Ontario. Needless to say it was all worth it in the end but there were many delays. Ahhh, gotta love winter travel!

    • haha, yes after speaking with a couple co-workers today, I see that golden rule is pretty prominent! I’ve never really been the domestic type, but I, too, kind of like certain appliances. Or maybe just the more fun ones like blenders and slow cookers lol.
      I’ll bet you have some Ontario-related travel horror stories! They are still happening actually. We’ve had a winter for the ages and it’s wreaking all kinds of havoc for air travel! Glad your trip went well though in spite of all that 🙂

  2. Mmmm looks delicious to me! So funny about breaking the no-kitchen-appliance rule 🙂 My husband bought me a crockpot once years ago and I put it on a high shelf and ignored it (less out of spite than cluelessness!)

    Enjoy your Cuisinart! I love mine and use it often. Great for smoothies.

    Btw, your honeymoon sounded awesome!
    -Dana

    • Thanks Dana! Oh man, you should definitely whip out that crock pot! That’s my fave kitchen item of all time!
      I’ve been warming up to smoothies. More so in the warmer months, though, I try to have them now but it’s been so cold I’m not really enjoying them!

  3. Pingback: Making Macarons, part one: The ‘these-would-get-me-slapped-by-any-self-respecting-Parisian’ edition | mygijourney

Leave a Reply

