PC’s new corn pasta put to the test in gourmet mac’n’cheese

Just how well did PC's new corn macaroni pasta hold up?

Just how well did PC’s new corn macaroni pasta hold up?

I believe I’ve mentioned a few times on this blog that I prefer corn pasta over rice pasta. Rice pasta, I find, is heavy and can become gummy very quickly. I’ve also come across a couple brands that break easily after boiling. Corn pasta, on the other hand, is lighter, doesn’t break, and takes way less time to cook. I’ve only really ever seen one brand of corn pasta in the grocery store I frequent, so you can imagine my delight when I saw President’s Choice had come out with its own version of gluten free pastas. I picked up a couple boxes (spaghetti and macaroni) to see if there was any difference from the brand I normally purchase.

On one particularly chilly evening, I whipped out the box of macaroni and put a mouth-watering gourmet spin on my usual gluten free macaroni and cheese. If interested, check out the dish I made below. And below that you’ll see how I found the pasta itself.

What you’ll need

  • 1 cup sliced mushrooms (I used white mushrooms)
  • Splash of red wine
  • 1 tbsp all purpose gluten free flour
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2-3 tbsp low sodium chicken broth
  • 1 cup grated old cheddar cheese
  • ¾ cup grated Parmesan
  • 1-2 tbsp of cream cheese
  • ¼ cup chopped sun-dried tomatoes
  • 3 or 4 fresh basil leaves
  • Ground black pepper
  •  1 tbsp tomato sauce (optional)

What you have to do

  • Quickly cook the mushrooms in a bit of the sun-dried tomato oil and wine on your stove top, place aside
  • In another pot on a low heat, cook the butter and flour together until it makes a paste
  • Add milk and chicken broth, stir
  • Slowly add your grated cheese, stirring into the mixture, allowing it to melt
  • Add in your basil leaves, ground black pepper, sun-dried tomatoes, and tomato sauce
  • In another pot, boil your corn pasta
  • When complete, drain the pasta and pour the sauce over-top, mixing thoroughly

This dish (a gourmet gluten free mac ‘n’ cheese, if you will) was one of the more satisfying pastas I’ve had in a while. So many savory flavours mingled together put an excellent spin on this otherwise classic favourite. The corn pasta itself also worked well in the dish. In fact, I found it a tad lighter than the usual one I buy, which is pretty amazing since gluten free pastas, both of the rice and corn variety, are generally less dense than ‘normal’ pastas. Would I buy PC’s again? Yes.

But, and perhaps more importantly, would I make this dish again? Absolutely.

1 Comment

Filed under Delicious dishes sans gluten, Food critic's corner

One response to “PC’s new corn pasta put to the test in gourmet mac’n’cheese

  1. Nice! I haven’t tried corn pasta yet. I always buy rice pasta, but you’re right about it being gummy. This one will be next…after the paleo challenge..lol

Leave a Reply

