(Mostly) gluten free Thanksgiving treats: How I glutened myself

Cute mini gluten free pies. Except for the ones on the left. Those are cute, but deadly.

Cute mini gluten free pies. Except for the ones on the left. Those are cute, but deadly.

This year, I decided it had been far too long since I had pumpkin pie, so I set out to make that. A few days before I hit the kitchen to whip it up, I visited an apple orchard. Before I knew it my fridge was bursting with apples. Ok, looks like I’m making some apple pie, too, I thought.

Since I had never made pie crust before (and my only experience with it was — occasionally — watching my mom release a string of expletives because the dough wouldn’t hold together — sorry mom!), I did some heavy duty googling.  In my search for the easiest of pie crusts, I came across images of charming little pies baked in cupcake pans. Well, I certainly had a couple of those! Just like that my pie baking feat morphed into a mini pie baking feat. And, if I do say so myself, they came out pretty darn cute!

For the crust, I used Bob’s Red Mill gluten free ‘easy as pie crust’ recipe. I doubled the recipe and added 1 tbsp of sugar, as the pie crusts I’ve always had had a hint of sweetness to them.

For the apple filling, I used Chef Michael Smith’s recipe (only I, of course, substituted the flour with all-purpose gluten free flour).

For the pumpkin filling, I used E.D. Smith’s pumpkin pie filling.

And this is how I glutened myself.

I didn’t read the label. What a rookie mistake. Soon after eating a mini pumpkin pie, I felt…off. It wasn’t too long before my stomach looked like a bowling ball and I felt the glorious pain of a thousand sharp knives slashing away from within. I dug the can’s label out of the recycling bin, and lo and behold, what did I see? WHEAT FLOUR. I took to my couch in agony and felt like an idiot. It was my turn to release a string of expletives. After all this time, reading the label should be second nature. But in all honesty, I didn’t think in my wildest dreams flour would be needed for a pumpkin pie filling. After all, I had researched how to make the filling myself and in every recipe I came across, I never saw flour listed as an ingredient.

So essentially I had gone out of my way to make a gluten free crust, and then proceeded to fill it with gluten. That is brilliance, right there. But ohh well. My mini apple pies were pretty good, so I could still have something!

These weren’t the only desserts I made. A couple weeks back I told of how I was hoping to adapt a Pillsbury cornucopia treat to make it gluten free. A fellow blogger, GF and Me, shared their fireside pastry pockets recipe and suggested the dough may work well with what I was trying to accomplish. With their recipe, I set out to make the little cornucopias, and unfortunately it didn’t work out. The dough didn’t seem to bend and twist the way I needed it to. I wasn’t about to toss it out though (the dough smelled fantastic in its raw state), so I made little stuffed pastries with the apples I had left over from my mini pies! These turned out pretty delicious. If I had some Nutella around, I would have made a few of GF and Me’s original recipe, which looks heavenly.

Scratching the cornucopia plan and opting for more pastries!

Scratching the cornucopia plan and opting for more pastries!

These were an unplanned, yet delightful little dessert.

These were an unplanned, yet delightful little dessert.

Despite glutening myself,or ‘snipering’ as I like to call it, I was really happy with the pie crust. I may have overcooked it by 10 minutes or so, but I was still happy with the end result. This recipe was so easy I’m excited to make it again, only maybe next time I’ll whip up  my other favourite pie: lemon meringue.

But that’s more of a summer thing. We’ve only just begun my favorite time of year, so I’m going to enjoy a bit lot more seasonal dishes while I can.

Happy Thanksgiving! 🙂

7 Comments

Filed under Delicious dishes sans gluten, Just for fun

7 responses to “(Mostly) gluten free Thanksgiving treats: How I glutened myself

  1. Those mini pies look so cute!!! I can’t believe how they sneak gluten into literally everything…I mean, pie filling??? I’m sorry to hear you weren’t able to enjoy it as much as you should have!
    I made a GF pie from Gluten Free Gus, the crust wasn’t traditional crust, it was made dates and cashews. Tunred out really yummy! And I decided to take on the task of making my own puree…which was time comsuming but worth it in the end!
    Can’t wait to see your Christmas goodies 🙂 🙂 Too soon?! Nah!

    • Thank you! And I know! The pie filling was a complete shock – it’s up there with gluten in ice cream, which i can’t really understand either. That dates and cashews crust looked really good. I’ll definitely have to be more experimental with my crusts! And NO! Never too soon for Christmas goodies, psshttt! I hope to see some from you too 🙂

      • Ice Cream!! Geez, they like to ruin everything don’t they??

        I am getting more and more excited the cooler it gets!!! EEEEK! Time to dust off the old recipes 😉

      • Yes! I mean, besides the obvious such as cookie dough ice cream, I also don’t see why gluten is thrown in there. Chapman’s is pretty safe from what I’ve seen (and eaten!) And double yes! It’ll be interesting to see how we balance exercise with Christmastime baked goods :S

  2. Oh man…I’ll totally fall off the wagon when I go home for Christmas…it’s been 3 years since I’ve been home to Ontario. I’ll have to detox when I get back!!!

Leave a Reply

