A lovely gluten free wedding cake just for me, part deux

It's hard to believe it's been two years since we got engaged!

It’s hard to believe it’s been two years since we got engaged!

Well, I can’t believe I’m writing this as it really doesn’t feel like it’s been 365 days, but this weekend my husband and I celebrated our one year wedding anniversary. In the morning he surprised me with a beautiful bouquet, and then we took to our car and journeyed three hours away to Algonquin Park, which was were he had proposed to me two years ago. There, on bended knee, he asked me to marry him. On a ‘lookout point’ cliff top. In front of dozens of tourists. The ‘oooohs’ and ‘ahhhhs’ coming from our sudden audience made me tongue-tied, to say the least. So much so that I left the poor guy suspended on bended knee for far longer than I had intended. When I heard one person not too far away whisper, ‘oh my God, is she going to say no?!’ I finally snapped out of my stage fright and said, ‘Yes!’

One year after that we were walking down the aisle, and now one year after that we are marveling at the fact that it’s been a year. It almost feels funny ringing in ‘one year,’ as we’ve been together for almost a decade, but it’s fun having another milestone to celebrate.

After a year of staring at wrapped up leftover wedding cake sitting in our freezer, we finally put it in the fridge yesterday to defrost. Will it taste good? Who knows; we’re about to find out. His might taste a better, as it looks like it was wrapped up with a bit more care. Yes, we do have a ‘his and hers’ wedding cake. As I told in one of my earlier posts, he had surprised me with a maple gluten free wedding cake just for me, as I had recently discovered my gluten intolerance. So whether the cake tastes fresh or stale, this is a fun wedding tradition we’ve both been looking forward to for the past year, and it’s the perfect way to end a spectacular weekend down memory lane 🙂

Blast from the past meets present day: A piece of cake from our wedding day, one year ago today, and a bouquet to celebrate our one year.

Blast from the past meets present day: A piece of cake from our wedding day, one year ago today, and a bouquet to celebrate our one year.

9 Comments

Filed under Just for fun

9 responses to “A lovely gluten free wedding cake just for me, part deux

  1. Congrats!!! How was the cake??! Those flowers are beautiful…looks like you have a pretty special hubbs 🙂 Oh and I LOVE your wedding pic, your whole look is very romantic…beautiful!! Hope you had a great weekend celebrating! Cheers to many more 🙂

  2. Tamra

    I can remember the first time I met you, the joy and love you have shared with my cousin. I remember my grandma taking me aside and saying “I like her!” And I agreed I think we both knew you two would end up getting married! Happy Anniversary to you both!
    I can’t think of two people better suited for each other I hope both of your cake tasted great!
    Lots of love: Tamra

  3. Giselle

    Hey guys,belated Happy Anniversary
    Hope you had a wonderful day.
    Giselle

Leave a Reply

