Gluten free Thanksgiving prep

Jon and I, a couple years back, after making our own Thanksgiving cornucopias.

Jon and I, a couple years back, after making our own Thanksgiving cornucopias.

My favourite time of year has always been ‘holiday season,’ and by that, I’m not being politically correct. ‘Holiday season’ is an exhilarating eight-month deal for me, as I consider September (the kick-start to fall and harvest and all that good stuff) to April (spring-time flowers and Easter) book-ending this. Do I show favouritism towards any specific holidays within this eight-month span? Of course. Christmas tops my top-3-favourite-times-of-year list, and Thanksgiving and Halloween follow.

So naturally, being September and all, I started thinking about the first event slated in the (Canadian) calendar: Thanksgiving, which this year falls in two weeks.

I’m especially excited for it this year, as I didn’t celebrate it last year. Why? I was busy getting married! While my husband I made sure to infuse fall-themed meals and flavours into our day, we missed out on the turkey, cranberry sauce, and pumpkin pie. So, naturally, this year I plan on going all-out with as many gluten free equivalents as I can muster up. ‘Maybe I can even make those cornucopias again,’ I thought. This is where my excitement started to really percolate.

A couple years back I stumbled upon a fun edible cornucopia recipe I just had to try. I say ‘edible’ cornucopia because up until that point I’ve only ever seen them used as part of an elaborate Thanksgiving décor. My mom, for instance, made a massive one when my brother and I were little, shellacked it, stored it, and then whipped it out every year to showcase in our kitchen. So when I saw cornucopias could not only be stuffed with festive gourds, but also eaten, I dragged Jon (then-boyfriend, now-husband) to the store for some Pillsbury dough and foil paper.

So how does it work exactly? First you need to get the shape. Wrap foil paper around a kitchen funnel and curl the bottom.

cornuATake the Pillsbury dough (the one for breadsticks is great because it’s already cut into strips) and wrap it around the foil cornucopia. If you want to really be fancy, you can braid the dough or weave the strips like a basket. As you can see below, we were not fancy.

These babies look pretty even raw, if I do say so myself.

These babies look pretty even raw, if I do say so myself.

Place the raw cornucopias into a 350 degrees-oven and leave them in there until the dough is golden brown. Then remove, let cool, and carefully take out the foil paper from the inside of the cornucopias.

From what I recall, these do not take long to bake, so check the oven every 5 minutes or so.

From what I recall, these do not take long to bake, so check the oven every 5 minutes or so.

What you’re left with are small, pretty, and delicious cornucopias for your Thanksgiving table. When I remembered how easy these were to make I thought hell yes we are creating these again…and then I remembered Pillsbury dough is not gluten free. Not at all.

I went to Google to see if the company produced any gluten free products, and lo and behold they did. My excitement spiked at this point. How had I not seen this in stores? And that’s when it sunk it. Indeed, I had not seen any of their gluten free products in stores. Another Google search revealed Pillsbury did not cater their gluten free products to Canada, but rather just the U.S.

Enter disappointment.

I suppose I could make a gluten free dough myself, from scratch. This plan is a bit daunting, as the only bread dough I’ve ever attempted was with my mom and Nonna by my side. But I should learn at some point, no?

So I thought I would call out to all of you for a bit of help. Have any (easy) gluten free bread dough recipes I could master for this year’s Thanksgiving cornucopia creations? I’m also perusing the good ol’ interwebs for some ideas, but I’ve seen some pretty astounding dishes from my blogger friends, so I thought I’d try you all first.

One way or another, I’m pumped to tackle a gluten free version of these for this year’s Thanksgiving.

And now that I think about it, I need to buy a kitchen funnel too.

Happy Thanksgiving prep!

12 Comments

Filed under Just for fun

12 responses to “Gluten free Thanksgiving prep

  1. It’s not a bread dough, but the pastry from our fireside pastry pockets would work well for this I bet. It’s easy to make and very pliable. I’m sure you could braid it or work it together in strips. You can find it at: http://gfandme.wordpress.com/2013/08/03/fireside-pastry-pockets-youll-be-the-happiest-camper-around/

  2. I don’t have recommendations but do wish you good luck! That looks like a fun and festive project worth tackling even with the extra work involves to make it GF. Hope you find the right recipe. 🙂

  3. Melissa

    I want to visit you guys for these edible cornucopias!!! lol They look so yummy!

  4. AHHHH the holiday excitement…love it!! I love Thanksgiving too 🙂 That cornucopia is flipping cool!!! What a neat idea 🙂 I wish I could help you a good bread recipe but I haven’t mastered that yet 😦 However, I type this I’m literally heading down across the border for some groceries and I kid you not, I want to find that GF dough and mail it to you!!! I only wish I didn’t live so far away because I’m not sure it would make the trip unrefrigerated??! I’ll let you know if I find it 😉

Leave a Reply

