Savoury gluten free stuffed peppers

The first stuffed peppers I've ever made -- without a recipe or anything. *Patting self on back*

The first stuffed peppers I’ve ever made — without a recipe or anything. *Patting self on back*

My husband and I recently got a Costco membership. Until recently we didn’t even consider having one since it’s just us two (and a kitty, but she’s a tiny little thing). But after listening to our friends go on and on about the great deals they were scooping up, we decided to check it out. In the end, we saw awesome savings were to be had with that coveted little plastic card, so we signed up.

Why am I talking about Costco when I promised you a recipe for stuffed peppers? I’m getting there! You see, for quite a few long months now, our ‘snack’ for work has been carrots. Every day, carrots. As of late, however, the carrots have been coming back home after work, still in their little unopened containers. In an effort to remain healthy, we thought we would swap out our carrots for sliced pepper sticks. So we went to Costco and bought a big pack of peppers.

…And then we got home and saw we still had a big pack of carrots sitting in our fridge. Urgh. So, for another three or four days we begrudgingly munched on carrots. In an effort to not let the peppers go to waste, I decided to make stuffed peppers. (There we are; told you I was getting there!)

Here’s the thing. I never made stuffed peppers. What I am about to lay out for you may be the most convoluted way in which to make them, but they turned out great, so I thought I would share.

What you’ll need

  • 6 bell peppers, any colour
  • 1 cup of brown rice
  • 2 or 3 large Portobello mushrooms, diced
  • 2 roasted red peppers (you can never have enough pepper, even in a stuffed pepper)
  • Garlic
  • Red wine, a dash (or two or three, plus one glass for you)

What you have to do

The stuffing

  • Cook the rice using water or gluten free chicken broth, set aside
  • Cut roasted red peppers into small pieces, set aside
  • In a separate pan, cook the diced mushrooms and garlic on low heat on your stovetop in a couple splashes of red wine
  • Mix rice, roasted red peppers, and mushrooms and garlic together in a bowl

The peppers

  • Preheat oven to 375 Degrees
  • Cut off the top of the peppers and remove the seeds and white, fleshy part (Google tells me this is called the ‘membrane.’ Ew.)
  • Place peppers in a pot of boiling water and leave them there for about five minutes
  • Remove from pot, drain of water, and place in pan

The stuffing of said peppers

  • Once the hallowed out, boiled peppers are on a pan, spoon the stuffing into each pepper
  • Sprinkle the top of each pepper with freshly ground pepper, onion salt, and Parmesan cheese
  • Place pan of deliciousness in the oven and leave for about 30 minutes

It’s a pretty easy dish, I suppose, but I do find it a tad time consuming – and there are quite a few items to wash when you are finally done.  It’s turned me onto stuffed peppers in general, though, and after Googling a few recipes, I see I can add (gluten free) breadcrumbs, ground beef or turkey, tomato sauce, and even peas. The sky’s the limit, it seems. But the above was my foray into the stuffed pepper realm, and if you attempt these you’ll see that what you’re left with is an incredibly savoury dish that will keep you, the chef, praised all dinner long.

7 Comments

Filed under Delicious dishes sans gluten

7 responses to “Savoury gluten free stuffed peppers

  1. Love me some stuffed peppers!!! These look great!! I grew up with my mom’s which have beef, tomato sauce and rice, but I’ve made them with turkey and quinoa…you’re right, the options are endless.
    The first time I made them I cut the bottoms off thinking it would help them stand up better. Yeah, it just caused everything to fall out the bottom…what not to do…haha!

  2. Oh and wine is always a must while cooking 😀

    • haha! Oh no to everything falling out of the bottom!! Yes, I had a couple that were uneven too, but I managed to prop them up against one another. Turkey and quinoa combo sounds really good! I’m excited to try different stuffed peppers! And YES. Wine while cooking = good times 🙂

  3. Melissa

    And yet another thing I’d like to try this Fall. Wow so many good ideas, I am literally going to bring this to my Nonna’s house for our family get together on Thanksgiving!

  4. Diana D

    One thing to do so they don’t fall over would be to put them into a cake or bread pan so they have each other and the sides to hold up against. I imagine that touching more metal would change the cooking time in some way so it might be best to try on a day when you can be more vigilant over the cooking.

Leave a Reply

