Spinach carrot crust pizza. Yuuuupppp!

I haven’t been able to get enough of my gluten free, flourless cauliflower pizza; I think I’ve had it consistently for a few Friday night dinners now. I’ve been changing up the toppings and each time it’s like I’m eating a whole new delectable, guilt-free treat. But when I came across this recipe, I decided it might be time to change things up a bit. After all, and as my family is well aware, I am notorious for eating a favourite dish to the point where I can’t stand it anymore, and that’s the last thing I want to happen with my cauliflower pizza!

You'll need a fork and knife for this thin crust pizza!

You’ll need a fork and knife for this thin crust pizza!

I am not the biggest fan of spinach; I like it in a cheese dip, but other than that, I can leave it right there in the serving platter. But like my other flourless pizza recipe, the other main ingredient is cheese, so I figured I would give this a try. I made one adjustment though: I cut the amount of spinach in half and I substituted it with carrot. My husband had actually been looking forward to this dish all week, and yet funnily enough his face contorted into one of absolute disgust when I excitedly told him I would be adding carrot. Go figure.

What you need for the crust

  • 1 cup packed fresh spinach
  • 1 cup shredded carrot
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup of cheese (I used cheddar)
  • Onion powder, ground black pepper, crushed garlic in oil (and whatever other spice you want, really)

What you have to do

Don't do this, my friends! Use a food processor. Note to self: Buy a food processor.

Don’t do this, my friends! Use a food processor. Note to self: Buy a food processor.

  • Preheat the oven to 425 degrees
  • Line your pizza pan with parchment paper (this is a must or else your crust will firmly stick to the pan!)
  • Puree your spinach using a food processor (unlike me who decided to use a blender. Don’t do this. It doesn’t work and it may result in you whipping your blender against the wall in a frenzy)
  • Puree the egg and carrot along with the spinach
Use your hands to mix all the ingredients together. Wash your hands first!

Use your hands to mix all the ingredients together. Wash your hands first!

  • Add the cheese and spices to your mixture (I actually did this by hand. It was a gooey, green mess, but it worked best)

 

 

 

 

 

Your green pizza crust might raise a few eyebrows, but it'll please the palette!

Your green pizza crust might raise a few eyebrows, but it’ll please the palette!

  • Spread the gooey green slop into a circle on your lined pizza pan
  • Place in the oven and let it cook for 15-20 minutes (It really depends on how thick your crust is. When it’s done, the top should look dried and shiny)
  • Take pizza out of the oven, top with your sauce and whatever other toppings you like. Place it back in the oven to let everything melt.
  • Take out and voila! You are now ready to chow down on a delicious green pizza.

This pizza, as tasty as it was, was not as hearty nor as filling as the cauliflower one. For that reason alone, I prefer my first flourless creation; however, this one is a fantastic healthy alternative for whenever I might want to switch it up.

The secret to this gluten free, flourless pizza crust? Spinach and carrot.

The secret to this gluten free, flourless pizza crust? Spinach and carrot.

3 Comments

Filed under Delicious dishes sans gluten

3 responses to “Spinach carrot crust pizza. Yuuuupppp!

  1. Yay! You tried it!! I love the addition of the carrot, great idea.
    Yes, the spinach like to stick to the side of the blender. Another option might be to just add the egg in with it and blend. The liquid would help but you also dont’ want to over beat the egg.
    At least your husband is open to trying it, mine won’t eat anything that is “too green” haha. Oh well, more for me!

    • Yupp, the blender was a horrible idea! I ended up using my husband’s old magic bullet blender…it was smaller and I was able to shake it while it was blending…that did the trick! Lol he’s pretty good about trying stuff — but in your case, that just means more for you! 🙂

  2. Pingback: When Life Hands You a Low FODMAP Diet, Make Pizza! | My Food and My Mood: Am I What I Eat?

Leave a Reply

