Cheers to the long weekend: A snapshot of g-free alcoholic drinks I like

Some gluten free alcoholic beverages I like. Some.

Some gluten free alcoholic beverages I like. Some.

Today kicks off the beginning of another summer’s worth of long weekends. Some call it Victoria Day Long Weekend while others call it May Two-Four; gardeners gear up for a season of crops, flowers, and plants, families barbecue and wait for fireworks, and almost everyone indulges in a bevy of beverages of the alcoholic variety. Last time I posted about gluten free alcohol, I dyed it all green in the spirit of St. Patty’s Day. This time there will be no food colour, but there will be more options. You can be rest assured, my gluten free friends, that I have taken one for the team, so to speak, and done some research in the days weeks leading up to this long weekend.

Strongbow

Strongbow: England's Dry Cider

Strongbow: England’s Dry Cider

I’ve heard mixed reviews about this cider, so I finally decided to give it a shot. It’s not as sweet and refreshing as Alexander Keith’s Original Cider (boo), and it leaves a subtle aftertaste, but it’s a decent drink I wouldn’t be opposed to getting again.

Lakefront New Grist Sorghum Beer

Lakefront New Grist Sorghum Beer

Lakefront New Grist Sorghum Beer

This yellow-hued, fizzy beer was a pleasant surprise. It had a refreshing apple-y taste like cider, but I would liken it more to a beer. The light sweetness makes this a perfect gluten free summertime beer.

Bard’s Beer

Bard's Beer

Bard’s Beer (and my kitten, Skrumple, who stubbornly stayed in my shot)

This gluten free gem is touted as being the ‘original sorghum malt beer,’ and folks, it tastes like an honest-to-god gluten-filled ‘normal’ beer. I’m definitely not opposed to the apple-flavour present in the aforementioned beverages, but it’s nice to know that if I want a beer in the traditional sense, (like maybe next year when the Leaf’s make the playoffs again? Maybe?) I have Bard’s to turn to.

A couple wines to try

White House 2011 Riesling Pinot Grigio and Guilty Men 2011 Red

White House 2011 Riesling Pinot Grigio and Guilty Men 2011 Red

Two Ontario wines hailing from the Niagara Peninsula, one red and one white. The Riesling Pinot Grigio is light, dry, and pleases the pallet with a refreshing citrus flavour. Guilty Men is a wickedly delicious fusion of Merlot, Pinot Noir, and Cabernet Sauvignon. Both are excellent options for the long weekend if neither gluten free beer nor cider float your boat.

Officially signing off to begin three days of festivities. Whether your weekend is a ‘long’ one or not, enjoy, be safe, and have fun! Cheers!

11 Comments

Filed under Food critic's corner, Just for fun

11 responses to “Cheers to the long weekend: A snapshot of g-free alcoholic drinks I like

  1. Love it! Great choices 🙂 Have a nice LONG weekend!

  2. Hey! As a Brit I’d say the mixed reviews of Strongbow are probably accurate. You should try Stowford Press Cider (which they do export) if you can find it. The bottles here are gf so I ASSUME the export is as well, although the ABVs are different. I prefer that to the Strongbow when I can get it. Hope you’re having a lovely long weekend! (Ours is next weekend, so this week ahead can’t go by quick enough for me). 🙂

    • Hey! Thanks for the suggestion, I think I’ll hunt for it the next time I’m shopping for alcohol! lol. And thanks, the weather is absolutely beautiful and we are definitely enjoying our long weekend! Hope you have a great one next weekend yourself!

  3. Thanks for the reviews! My poor husband is having a hard time finding decent GF beer, so I’ll have him check out your rec’s. Have a great long weekend and enjoy your drinks 🙂 Those wines look great, too. I am super intrigued by the Riesling Pinot Grigio!

    • No problem! Riesling has become my new favourite wine, and this one was amazing! I hope your hubby finds a g-free beer he likes! Bard’s is my #1 recommendation for him!

  4. Ottimo, articolo davvero interessante, era proprio quello che cercavo! Grazie per lo spunto!

  5. e’ difficile trovare persone competenti su questo argomento, ma sembra che voi sappiate di cosa state parlando! Grazie

  6. Questo e’ il blog giusto per tutti coloro che vogliono capire qualcosa su questo argomento. Trovo quasi difficile discutere con te (cosa che io in realta’ vorrei… haha). Avete sicuramente dato nuova vita a un tema di cui si e’ parlato per anni. Grandi cose, semplicemente fantastico!

  7. Laryssa

    Hi Laura! I was wondering if you would be okay with us posting you ‘review’ on the House Wine Co. Website! Let me know! winery@henryofpelham.com

Leave a Reply

