Scrumptious Salad: The Zesty Smoked Salmon edition

Congratulate me, salad eaters, for I have found a salad I can get on board with. I recreated a gluten free dish I’ve had at one of my favourite Toronto pubs, The 3 Brewers. I was practically crushed when I realized I couldn’t have gluten anymore because this particular pub is a microbrewery-restaurant and always had delicious beers. While their menu doesn’t really cater to those with a gluten intolerance, I found one particular dish that not only sits well in my stomach, but also satisfies my hunger. This dish is a salad, and yes, I give it a highly enthusiastic thumbs up for serving as an honest-to-god filling meal.

My delicious, filling, and colourful-to-boot scrumptious salad

My delicious, filling, and colourful-to-boot scrumptious salad

The 3 Brewers gets to the point and simply calls this salad ‘Smoked Salmon and Shrimp.’ I put my own spin on it, left a couple ingredients out, and decided to call it ‘Zesty Smoked Salmon.’

Ok, fine. That’s not any more creative.

What you’ll need

  • Red leaf lettuce
  • Smoked salmon
  • 1 chopped hard-boiled egg
  • Chopped sweet onion
  • Capers
  • Cucumbers
  • Red peppers
  • Lemon juice

What you have to do

  • Well, it’s a salad, so I’m sure you already have a guess: mix it up!

What you get in the end is a fresh, satisfying salad that won’t make you hungry 20 minutes after eating it. I actually ate this every day at work for lunch last week, and with a little drizzle of olive oil, my meal was the envy of the office (or at least I like to think so).

This microbrewery-restaurant chain has several locations, and if you’re near one, I highly recommend you order their tasty version. But if you’re home and bored of the old lettuce-and-balsamic combo *cough, mom, cough* give this one a shot!

10 Comments

Filed under Food critic's corner, Scrumptious Salads

10 responses to “Scrumptious Salad: The Zesty Smoked Salmon edition

  1. YAY!!! SALAD!!! And it looks delish..I will have to try this one out 🙂 🙂

  2. YUM! I can’t wait to try this. I love love love smoked salmon 🙂 and pretty much anything salty and briny 🙂
    -Dana

  3. Ha! I am also a salad sceptic but I think I could go for this. Looks lovely.

Leave a Reply

