My accidental gluten free cookie-like muffin tops

This recipe gives you a gluten free cookie and muffin top all at once.

This recipe gives you a gluten free cookie and muffin top all at once.

The other day I wanted chocolate, but I didn’t have anything to munch on at home and I was too lazy tired to go out and buy something. I scanned my cupboards and found a canister of cocoa, but didn’t really know what to do with it. I started googling ‘cocoa cookies’ and came across this recipe. They looked pretty good, but I saw they had flour, so I couldn’t have them. Note to self: next time, google ‘gluten free cocoa cookies.’ Then I had an idea: why not adapt these to make them gluten free?

I already had an abundance of different flours left over from my Easter bread, and I’ve wanted more practice before adapting my old favourite gluten-filled meals anyway.

I am obsessed with coconut, so I decided to straight-up replace the ‘normal’ flour with coconut flour and nothing else. But didn’t I read somewhere before that it’s not an 1:1 ratio when subbing normal flour with coconut flour? I did a bit more googling and read number of different sites that all essentially said the same thing:

  • Add another egg,
  • Add more liquid,
  • Put 1/3 cup of coconut flour to substitute 1 cup of normal flour

Ok, that’s not so bad, I thought. I even got a bit excited when I remembered I had leftover shredded coconut from my homemade movie snack. This wouldn’t just be a gluten free cocoa cookie; it would be a cocoa-coconut cookie! As I proceeded to mix everything together, I couldn’t help but smirk at the bragging rights I was going have. This is going to be great, I decided.

Well actually, this is what happened.

My soupy, soupy cookie batter. Before I salvaged it.

My soupy, soupy cookie batter. Before I salvaged it.

My cookie batter resembled something closer to cake batter; it was far too soupy. How could I actually drop spoonfuls of this onto a pan without it becoming just one liquid mess?

It was then that this recipe became an ‘ok-let’s-just-add-more-stuff-and-see-what-happens’ gluten free cookie. I made sure to keep measuring as I went along, as I had high hopes my experimentation would produce something edible.

Tossing in more cocoa, coconut flour, shredded coconut, and xanthan gum thickened up my sad-excuse-for-cookie-batter nicely. It was no dough, but it was thick enough so that the batter wouldn’t run in the pan.

Check it out: The batter's not running together. *happy dance*

Check it out: The batter’s not running together. *happy dance*

When I took them out of the oven, I couldn’t help but laugh at how flat they were. They did not rise at all. The original recipe did note that these were soft cocoa cookies, but they were not discs!

My cookies ended up tasting like cocoa-coconut muffins, which was fine with me.

My cookies ended up tasting like cocoa-coconut muffins, which was fine with me.

Guess what though? These actually tasted really good. The texture and consistency was that of a muffin, so I might actually pour the batter into muffin pans next time I make them. For now, though, these tasty little treats are being enjoyed at home as makeshift gluten free coconut cocoa muffin top-like cookies.

Here’s the recipe if you feel like making flat gluten free cookie-muffin tops:

What you’ll need

  • ½ cup margarine or butter
  • 1 cup gluten free brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup cocoa
  • 2 eggs
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 2/3 cup coconut flour
  • 2 tsp Xanthan gum
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • ½ cup unsweetened shredded coconut (or more if you’re like me and really like coconut)

What you have to do

  • Preheat oven to 400-Degree F
  • Mix butter, brown sugar, egg
  • Mix in other ingredients
  • Place spoonfuls of batter onto ungreased pan
  • Bake for 10-12 minutes; do not overcook
  • Let cool and enjoy with milk or coffee
2 Comments

Filed under Delicious dishes sans gluten

2 responses to “My accidental gluten free cookie-like muffin tops

  1. Sometimes “accidents’ end up being the yummiest! They would make a great muffin 🙂 Experimenting is fun isn’t it?!

Leave a Reply

