Fun and easy key lime cupcakes

It appears my blog is swiftly becoming an ode to the colour green; I promise this is not intentional. But here I am once again writing about a food item I’ve recently had that was kind of green!

My husband had celebrated his birthday over the weekend, and I decided to surprise him with a treat from his past: a key lime dessert. I had never made anything ‘key lime’ before, but what I came up with was relatively easy. I’ll start by saying I used a gluten free cake mix; I’ve never really been a baker and I’ll admit I’ve been a bit intimidated with the whole substituting-‘normal’-flour-with-3-or-4-other-flours-I’ve-never-heard-of-that-can-be-digested-easily-by-my-gluten-intolerant-stomach.

The mix I used was a Betty Crocker’s gluten free cake mix, and while this may be construed as taking the easy way out, you’ll see I had some fun working with the rest of the recipe.

My delicious gluten free key lime cupcake is something I'll definitely be making again.

My delicious gluten free key lime cupcake is something I’ll definitely be making again.

The cupcakes
What you’ll need

What you have to do

  • Bake the cupcakes using the mix
  • Mix lime flavoured Jell-O powder with boiling water
  • After the cupcakes have been taken out of the oven, poke holes into them using a fork and then pour the hot, liquid lime Jell-O over them
  • Transfer the cupcakes (which are now green!) into the fridge and leave them there till cooled

The cream cheese icing
What you’ll need

  • Philadelphia Brick Cream Cheese (softened)
  • ¼ cup butter (softened)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • Lemon juice  and lime juice (I regularly buy the ReaLemon and ReaLime 100% lemon and lime juices for my water, so I just used what I had in my fridge)
  • Yellow food colour (I used McCormick’s, which is gluten free)

What you have to do

  • Whip the cream cheese, butter, and sugar together
  • Add the lemon and lime juice (I started by adding 1 tsp of each juice and then kept adding a bit more of each as I wanted the icing to be really flavourful. In the end, I added a little under 2 tbsp of each juice, but I would recommend you taste the icing as you flavour it and then add more or less to your liking)
  • Mix in the yellow food colour (I toyed with the idea of making the icing green, but decided it would have been just too much green, as the inside of the cupcakes were this colour from the Jell-O)
  • Spread the cream cheese icing onto the cooled cupcakes
  • Sprinkle with yellow crystal sprinkles

My goof
In the end, the cupcakes were a delicious hit. I should say, though, that being the kitchen savvy person that I am (sarcasm noted), I completely, 100 per cent forgot to add 1 cup of water to the cake mix! I realized this when the cupcakes were already in the oven and I was fully ready to buy another mix and start again, but decided to try them first. They didn’t taste too bad without the water, and the lack of water was definitely unnoticeable by the time the Jell-O and cream cheese frosting were added! Next time I’ll add the water, which I’m sure will make them more moist, but this particular batch was enjoyed and quickly consumed.

3 Comments

Filed under Delicious dishes sans gluten

3 responses to “Fun and easy key lime cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Why I love the Bulk Barn | mygijourney

  2. Your cupcakes look good! We used to pour strawberry Jello over a white cake with holes poked in it, then topped it with whipped cream and fresh strawberries. I love the idea of lime though.

    • Love strawberries, so your recipe sounds really good too! And the key lime gave it a really ‘fresh’ and light feel — can’t say I’ve had that in a cupcake before lol.

Leave a Reply

