I might like my wine green, but not my soup

It amazes me how many restaurant soup dishes are off limits because they have gluten. I’ve made a number of soups that don’t use flour as a thickener, and even if they did, the flour could be replaced with cornstarch.

It’s mid-March and we just got hit with another blast of winter. Even though I’m inside at the moment, the cold and snow is putting me in the mood for soup — yellow split pea soup to be exact.

Yellow split pea soup: my comfort food for wintery days

Yellow split pea soup: my comfort food for wintery days

When I was younger my mom proudly whipped up a pot of green split pea soup. Maybe it was the green hue or maybe it was the flavour — whatever the reason, my brother and I despised it and we were too young and too polite to protest. Luckily for me, a ringing telephone had called my mom away from the kitchen in the middle of dinner. My brother was maybe six years old at the time, and I can still remember his wide eyes following me as I crept to the stove, bowl of soup in hand, only to slyly pour the soup back into its pot. My stealth skills allowed me to make it back to the table in time, but my brother wasn’t so lucky. When my mom returned to the kitchen, she was impressed I had ‘gobbled up’ all my soup. I was free to go play, but my brother had to stay behind and actually finish his dish. As an older sister, I’ve come to terms with the fact that I’ve got an inherent evil streak, and this story still makes me snicker.

But I digress.

My recipe for split soup requires yellow split peas, not green, thankyouverymuch. And it doesn’t contain gluten either.

What you’ll need

  • 2 – 2.5 cups dried yellow split peas
  • 8 – 10 cups light chicken stock (I haven’t made my own stock yet, so I use PC Organics Chicken Broth. I called PC to ensure it is gluten free — it is)
  • 8 – 10 slices of smoked ham, chopped into small pieces
  • 1 cup thinly chopped onions
  • 1 cup of thinly chopped carrots
  • 2 tsp marjoran
  • 2-3 tbsp sour cream
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste

What you have to do

  • Cook the onion and carrots in a large pot with oil until the onion is translucent
  • Wash and drain the split peas (many, many recipes suggest you soak the peas overnight. I never have and haven’t had a problem, but you may want to soak them to be safe)
  • Put the washed split peas, chicken broth, and marjoran into the pot
  • Let everything lightly boil for about an hour or until the peas split
  • Add sour cream and chopped slices of ham. If you like, mix chives into the sour cream ahead of time for some extra flavor
  • Add salt and pepper to your liking

Enjoy and stay warm!

3 Comments

Filed under Delicious dishes sans gluten

3 responses to “I might like my wine green, but not my soup

  1. I’ve always preferred yellow split peas to green, too! Funny. I went and looked it up and Livestrong says the only difference is a slightly milder taste in the yellow split peas…but also says that the green peas are slightly sweeter. I love sweet things, so what gives? Now I’m fully confused.

    (I discovered your blog through your comment at celiacandallergyadventures.wordpress.com. Glad I did; it’s always nice to find a kindred green-split-pea-disliker, and I enjoyed your green cider and wine photos, too!)

    • Hi Molly! Thanks for your comment 🙂 I, too, love sweet things, so I’m not sure why I have such an aversion to green split peas…it has to be the colour I guess. But then again, I did drink green wine as you saw lol. Thanks for following me! I’ll be sure to check out your blog too 🙂

  2. Pingback: Super yellow g-free mac’n’cheese | mygijourney

Leave a Reply

