St. Patty’s Day G-free style

For the first time in years, I did not put on my green leprechaun T-shirt and go out to celebrate St. Patrick’s downtown. Friends had cancelled earlier in the week, but it was just as well — I was coming off the tail end of a cold that had plagued me for days. Still feeling a bit blah and recluse, I opted to stay in on the night everyone else was getting drunk off green beer. But I still had my appetite, so my husband, Jonathan, and I threw our own St. Patty’s Day celebration of sorts from the comfort of our condo. Before the party kicked off, we headed to the grocery store for green food colour, and then to the LCBO for some alcohol. Jonathan got his usual variety pack of different beers, but since I can’t have beer anymore, I picked up my own little gluten free variety pack.

Alexander Keith’s Original Cider

First cider I ever tried and loved it.

First cider I ever tried and loved it.

I’ve only ever tried one cider before and it was this one. I had it this past summer at Toronto’s Festival of Beer and I was pleasantly surprised. It’s sweet, but not sickly sweet like the wine coolers I used to enjoy in my teen years. The cider boasts a light, refreshing green apple bubbliness — fitting considering the addition of green food colour.

Nickel Brook Gluten Free Beer

I appreciate the effort, Nickel Brook, but I don't think I'll be a repeat customer.

I appreciate the effort, Nickel Brook, but I don’t think I’ll be a repeat customer.

I really, really wanted to like this one. Really. I don’t think I could ever have been considered an avid beer drinker, but I do miss it from time to time. This brew was disappointing to say the least. Even the smell was off-putting. When drinking it, all I could think was that it was made from some perplexing combination of apples, pears, and garbage. Yes, garbage; it was as if a bag of trash had been left sitting out in the sun for longer than it should have. Needless to say, I did not finish the can.

White House Wine Co.’s 2011 Riesling Pinot Grigio

I probably won't make a habit of turning my wine green, but it was fun for the occasion.

I probably won’t make a habit of turning my wine green, but it was fun for the occasion.

Yes, I did this. I made my glass of wine green. It was the first time I had tried White House’s Riesling Pinot Grigio, and I loved it. Thank you, wine gods, for making this delicious alcoholic beverage naturally gluten free.  

Happy St. Patty’s everyone! 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Food critic's corner, Just for fun

One response to “St. Patty’s Day G-free style

  1. Pingback: Cheers to the long weekend: A snapshot of g-free alcoholic drinks I like | mygijourney

Leave a Reply

