The best damn sweet potato fries ever

I discovered sweet potato fries three of four years before I became gluten intolerant and they quickly became my go-to side dish at restaurants. I don’t know if it was chipotle sauce they usually came with or the fact that I was secretly tired of plain fries, but whatever the reason, they were my favourite.

Now I find that more often than not, I can’t order them at all. And, no, it’s not because they may or may not have come in contact with gluten. I can’t order them because for some reason, they are always breaded.

I suppose they are breaded to add firmness to an otherwise ‘flimsy’ fry, but really they don’t have to be.

I’ve experimented with my own versions of sweet potato fries, and I do believe I have found a winner. You’ll see it’s a pretty easy recipe, but sometimes simple is best. Also, they don’t require any bread coating. Try them out yourself. You’ll see they are the best damn sweet potato fries ever – so good, in fact, you won’t even miss the chipotle sauce 🙂

These sweet potato fries beat anything I've ever had in a restaurant. And they are so easy to make.

These sweet potato fries beat anything I’ve ever had in a restaurant. And they are so easy to make.

  • Preheat oven to 425 degrees F
  • Cut one or two large sweet potatoes into half-inch or one-inch thick wedges
  • Lightly coat wedges with extra virgin olive oil
  • Sprinkle wedges with sea salt, freshly ground black pepper, chili powder, and red pepper flakes (If you like spice, be generous. I like just enough to give them a kick)
  • Bake in oven for about 25-30 minutes, flipping once
  • While they are hot, add a bit more black pepper and sea salt

Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Delicious dishes sans gluten

2 responses to “The best damn sweet potato fries ever

  1. yummy i love sweet potatoes and making fries from them

Leave a Reply

